Amusement

Nice Things March Brings

‘Smarch? Do you have a special little march?’ – Selina Meyer (Veep)

It’s been long but I collated some of the cool stuff I got recently. It’s going to be so weird when I read back and I barely put in stuff that’s like my daily life because that’s what people usually do in their blogs. HA. Moving on

#1 Women In ScienceProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetThis is a lovely illustrated book about women who have made their mark in science, its pretty great because its motivational seeing all these amazing women shatter glass ceilings, choosing STEM related careers and making breakthroughs.

#2 Amiibo Figurines (Animal Crossing only)Processed with VSCO with a6 presetAren’t they adorable as shit? I pretty much cleared out the shelves of two different stores because they were all on sale. I didn’t even intend on getting so many but when I saw someone eye-ing one of them that I didn’t take, I just quickly swooped it out of her view. I’m kinda horrible, hahaha! I basically get to scan them into my game and unlock some new items and stuff!

#3 Indoor PlantProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetThis was totally random, my mom just came home and brought me this plant which she said was really expensive (eek), we both don’t know what plant it is but its really lovely. I guess she bought it because a few months ago, I asked her if she knew where I could get a Lily of the valley but no. Hence, a substitute!

#4 Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid LipstickProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetI kinda stumbled on this because I just literally woke up one day and decided I wanted to start wearing lipstick, I mean it was probably some picture I saw that just finally clicked and made me wanted to start trying. So Google-d ‘Best lipstick’, this came up and yes, the color is amazing, matte, adheres well, fantastic! BUT its really drying on the lips, lip-balming first isn’t useful, hmm maybe their lipstick line will be better?

#5 Canon EOS 80DProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetThis is it..Processed with VSCO with a6 presetAfter much deliberation..Processed with VSCO with a6 presetIts finally here..

HAHA, dramatic effect and CUT. YES I finally got myself a full-fledged DSLR. Its insane! It all started when I saw this youtuber using the Canon G7x Mark ii, and I was like hey, I should really get a dedicated camera that I could split with my brother, because i knew he wanted one too.

ok, i’m not going to go into the full story, but essentially it was just me pushing him constantly to make a decision, it was tiresome, but after weeks and months of discussing, thank god, the it show was coming up, pushing us to make a decision quick.

Here were some of our initial considerations:

  • Canon G7x Mark iiΒ 
  • Canon EOS 70DΒ 
  • Sony Rx100 iii/iv/vΒ 
  • Sony A6300
  • Nikon D3400
  • Nikon D7200

The red ones are the ones that made it to the final bracket, including 80D, Mirror-less (Sony A6300) would be so great but, urgh, shitty battery life, no touch screen and its barely articulating screen. Pass. And as for Nikon D7200, no touch screen, no articulating screen were kinda a buzzkill. So ultimately, the 80D, because besides checking all the boxes its competitors did not, its a canon, meaning wide variety of lenses, camera-phone app, and just general specifications wise. Price tag: $1,999 incl. kit lens 18-135mm IS USM and a bunch of free ‘gifts’ because we bought it at an IT show.

Here are some test shots:Processed with VSCOMy first shot, its so eerie.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetPuds!Processed with VSCO with a6 presetWham!

So, that’s pretty much it! Bye!

Leave a Reply

